first_imgLast Updated: 24th October, 2019 22:51 IST Yogeshwar Dutt: 5 Other Indian Athletes Who Entered Politics Yogeshwar Dutt has now joined the growing list of athletes who have chosen the field of politics as their new career option after hanging up their boots. Today we look at other athletes who also tried their hand in politics.Also Read: Kiren Rijiju Tries His Hand At Fishing Adventurous Sport, Takes A DipBabita Phogat FOLLOW US WE RECOMMEND Written By 11 months ago BJP’s Yogeshwar Dutt on poll debut: ‘Different innings, same honesty’ First Published: 24th October, 2019 22:51 IST SUBSCRIBE TO US COMMENT WATCH US LIVEcenter_img 10 months ago Haryana elections: Yogeshwar Dutt hopeful, says BJP will get a big win Sports personalities over the years have made a transition from being sportspersons to becoming politicians. The likes of Kirti Azad, Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore, Mohammad Azharuddin, Dilip Tirkey, Navjot Singh Sidhu etc. have taken the plunge into politics. The field of politics is emerging to be a new career option for retired athletes and the list of sportspersons who have joined politics after making a successful career in sports is growing. The latest ones to join the bandwagon are Indian wrestler Yogeshwar Dutt and hockey star Sandeep Singh. Babita is fighting the Haryana elections from the Dadri Assembly constituency after joining the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on August 12. She is making her debut in the political akhara and has said to a leading media daily that the decision to enter politics was her own as she grew up in a family connected with the field, making her interested in taking it up.Also Read: Indian Army Soldier Bags Gold At Abu Dhabi Open Regatta 2019Vijender SinghKnown for his swag and hard punches inside the boxing ring, the Olympic medalist made his debut bout in the political ring during the Lok Sabha Elections. The Bhiwani boxer joined the Indian National Congress to fight from South Delhi constituency. Vijender had quit competitive boxing and joined the professional circuit.Also Read: Irving Scores 50 But Misses Last Shot, Wolves Top Nets In OTRajyavardhan Singh RathoreRathore made his debut in politics in the year 2013 after joining the Bhartiya Janata Party. So far, he has had a successful career,, having served as the Minister of State (Independent Charge) for the Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports in the Government of India till May 2019. In the sports field, the retired Colonel has won 25 international medals at various championships for Double Trap Shooting, including a silver medal at the 2004 Summer Olympics in the Men’s Double Trap event.Also Read: 76ers Top Celtics 107-93 In 1st Battle Of East FavoritesNafisa AliNafisa Ali contested the 2004 Lok Sabha Elections unsuccessfully from South Kolkata. On 5 April 2009, she contested the Lok Sabha Elections from Lucknow on a Samajwadi Party ticket. Outside politics, Ali was West Bengal’s swimming sensation in the early seventies and a national swimming champion in 1974. She was also a jockey for a while at the Calcutta Gymkhana in 1979.Also Read: UFC: Conor McGregor Has Been Named As The Richest Fighter Of UFCBhaichung BhutiaThe former captain of the Indian football team first tried his hand in politics in 2014, contesting the LS elections from the Darjeeling constituency on a Trinamool Congress ticket, only to lose the contest. The 43-year-old ventured into politics for the second time contesting the assembly elections in 2016, again on a Trinamool Congress ticket from the Siliguri assembly seat but failed to score.In April 2018, the former striker announced that he was launching a political party, the Hamro Sikkim Party (HSP) and said his party would fight the “corrupt regime of Pawan Chamling”, then the longest-serving Chief Minister in the country. 11 months ago Yogeshwar Dutt joins BJP, in talks to contest Haryana Assembly polls 10 months ago Haryana: Yogeshwar Dutt casts his vote, says he’s ready to serve India Suraj Alva 10 months ago Haryana polls: Former Indian Hockey captain Sandeep Singh casts vote LIVE TVlast_img

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *