first_imgTHE Guyana Cycling News (GCN) will end its reporting of the 2016 cycling season with an Awards Ceremony slated for the Bunker 80 Bar, situated at Lime and Hadfield Streets, thisGeron WilliamsGeron Williamsevening, starting at 18:00 hrs.At tonight’s ceremony, local pedal pushers who performed outstandingly on the local and international circuit during the year will be recognised for their determination, dedication and achievements for 2016 when there were 49 programmes locally that included road, circuit and stage races.Among the special awards will be one for Most Oustanding Cyclist on the international circuit and one each for the Most Improved Male and Female cyclists.Continental Cycle Club’s Geron Williams who is based in the United States of America (USA) has been named MostOrville HindsOrville HindsOutstanding Rider on the international circuit, while Shaquile Agard and Christopher Griffith are joint winners of the GCN’s Most Improved cyclists for 2016 in the male category and Whitney Poyer is the Most Improved female cyclist.In the senior open points’ classification, Team Evolution’s Orville Hinds heads the list ahead of his teammate Michael Anthony, Team Coco’s Agard, Raul Leal (Team Evolution) and Marlon `Fishy’ Williams (Team Evolution).The Masters’ under 45 years category is headed by Junior Niles. Second in this category is Jaikarran Sukhai, while Warren McKay is third.In the junior category points standing, Raphael Leung lead’s ahead of Andrew Hicks and Christopher Cornelius,respectively.The female cyclist of the Year Award will go to United Kingdom-based Claire Fraser-Green, the 2016 national road race and individual time trial champion, while Christine Mattheson is the runner-up.The 2016 Outstanding Masters over 45 years award will go to Raymond Newton, while Keon Thomas will receive the Most Outstanding Mountain Bike rider award.last_img

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *