first_imgATLANTA – Teammates Becca Hittner (Urbandale, Iowa) and Sara Rhine (Eldon, Mo.) of the Drake University women’s basketball team have each been selected to the “Wade Watch” list of candidates for the 2020 Wade Trophy presented to the best player in college women’s basketball, the Women’s Basketball Coaches Association announced Thursday, Nov. 7. Janelle Bailey North Carolina Center 6-4 Jr. Ruthy Hebard Oregon Forward 6-4 Sr. The Wade Trophy honor adds to an impressive list for Hittner, who is also on the Ann Meyers Drysdale and Wooden award preseason lists. Last month, Rhine was chosen to the Katrina McClain award preseason list for the second consecutive year. The duo joins Oregon State and Stanford, which have two honorees each while Oregon and UConn each have three student-athletes on the national list. The “Wade Watch” list of candidates for the Wade Trophy is composed of players selected by the WBCA NCAA Division I Coaches’ All-America Selection Committee. Ae’Rianna Harris Purdue Forward 6-1 Sr. Becca Hittner Drake Guard 6-0 Sr. Aari McDonald Arizona Guard 5-6 Jr. Drake open the 2019-20 season Friday at the Knapp Center against 2019 Sweet 16 participant, South Dakota State.Here is the list: Bella Alarie Princeton Forward 6-4 Sr. DiJonai Carrington Stanford Guard 5-11 Sr. MiKayla Pivec Oregon State Guard 5-10 Sr. Name Institution Position Height Current Year Michaela Onyenwere UCLA Forward 6-0 Jr. Tyasha Harris South Carolina Guard 5-10 Sr. Kiah Gillespie Florida State Forward 6-2 RS Sr. Chelsea Dungee Arkansas Guard 5-11 RS Jr. Megan Walker UConn Forward 6-1 Jr. Haley Gorecki Duke Guard 6-0 Grad. Last season, Hittner was a WBCA All-America nominee. She is the back-to-back Jackie Stiles Missouri Valley Conference Player of the Year, and led the MVC in scoring each of the past two seasons, including a career-high 19.7 points per game in 2018-19. She was named to the All-MVC First Team for the third-consecutive season. Hittner had 15 20-plus scoring performances and four 30-plus games last season. Tynice Martin West Virginia Guard 5-11 RS Sr.center_img Beatrice Mompremier Miami (FL) Forward 6-4 RS Sr. Rhine is coming off another banner season in 2018-19. She averaged 18.3 points per game which was just behind Hittner for tops in the conference and pulled down 8.3 rebounds while shooting a league-best 61.2 percent from the floor. Rhine was selected to the All-MVC First Team for the second consecutive season. She recorded a team-high 13 double-doubles and 14 20-plus scoring performances. Destiny Slocum Oregon State Guard 5-7 RS Jr. Rhyne Howard Kentucky Guard 6-2 So. The Wade Trophy — now in its 43nd year — is the oldest and most prestigious national player of the year award in college women’s basketball. It is named in honor of the late, legendary Delta State University head coach Lily Margaret Wade, who won three consecutive national championships with the Lady Statesmen. Crystal Dangerfield UConn Guard 5-5 Sr. Destiny Pitts Minnesota Guard 5-10 Jr. Sabrina Ionescu Oregon Guard 5-11 Sr. Lauren Cox Baylor Forward 6-4 Sr. Kalia Charles Maryland Guard 6-1 Sr. Sara Rhine Drake Forward 6-1 RS Sr. Satou Sabally Oregon Forward 6-4 Jr. Rennia Davis Tennessee Guard 6-2 Jr. Kiana Williams Stanford Guard 5-8 Jr. Christyn Williams UConn Guard 5-11 So. Peyton Williams Kansas State Forward 6-4 Sr. Chennedy Carter Texas A&M Guard 5-7 Jr. Print Friendly Versionlast_img read more